When A Distracted Driver Causes Serious Injuries

Connecticut law prohibits the use of any handheld mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle barring few exceptions. Drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age are prohibited from using a cellphone or mobile device at any time — even with a hands-free accessory.

Distracted driving is any nondriving activity a person engages in while operating a motor vehicle. There are three types of distractions:

  • Visual: Taking your eyes off the road
  • Manual: Taking your hands off the wheel
  • Cognitive: Taking your attention away from driving

All types of distracted driving can cause severe and fatal motor vehicle accidents.

An Unfortunate But Familiar Story

It's a familiar story that keeps repeating itself: A driver hits another vehicle or a pedestrian while texting, using social media (such as Facebook or Twitter) or otherwise distracted with an iPhone or other mobile device. The victims are severely injured or even killed. And it all could have been prevented.

If you or a loved one was hurt on the road because of a driver's negligence, get the advice you need to make good choices. You may be entitled to compensation for your medical costs, lost income, pain and suffering and/or other damages.

What Steps Should I Take Now?

What do you do if you or one of your family members is injured by a distracted driver in Connecticut? These are essential steps:

  • Get the medical attention you need. Your health and safety come first. Even if your injuries don't seem serious, make sure you seek medical attention. Some collision-related medical problems, such as back and neck injuries, may not show up right away, so be safe rather than sorry.
  • Document the accident if you can, and get witnesses. If it is possible, having photos of the accident can help your case. Having information about witnesses is also important.
  • Make a police report. Be sure local law enforcement officers or state troopers have all the information they need. If they don't show up at the accident scene, contact the authorities and have them come before you leave the scene.
  • Don't talk to the negligent driver's insurance company. It will be looking for ways to deny an accident claim or pay minimally on a claim. Sometimes, insurance company representatives will show up very soon after an accident. Do not talk to them if they call you.
  • Don't accept a settlement check until you talk to an attorney. Do not accept a check until you know it is fair. A negligent driver's insurance company will usually try to lowball a victim to minimize its liability and be done with the claim.
  • Talk to an attorney with relevant experience. An experienced car accident attorney can advise you of your legal rights, and present you with options if he or she thinks you have a case. Make sure the attorney you contact understands distracted driving laws in Connecticut.

Talk To An Attorney With More Than 30 Years Of Experience | Free Consultation

The personal injury lawyers of Williams, Walsh & O'Connor, LLC, can give you specific guidance regarding your car, truck or motorcycle accident case. We have been protecting injured people throughout Connecticut for more than 30 years. Contact us for a free consultation.