PLEASE NOTE: In order to best serve our clients, our office will remain open for business. To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients and prospective clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing.
PLEASE NOTE: In order to best serve our clients, our office will remain open for business. To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients and prospective clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing.

Being involved in an accident with a semi-truck can be a life-changing event, especially if you sustain serious injuries. While there are laws in place that attempt to mitigate accidents caused by truck drivers, ranging from maximum allowed driving hours to alcohol restrictions, anything can happen on the road.

If you were not at fault for the accident, you should be able to seek fair coverage for your medical bills and any other expenses or income loss you incur while recovering from your injuries.

At the scene of the accident

Immediately after an accident, take these steps:

  • Call 911
  • Seek medical attention if needed
  • Take contact information from the reporting police officer and the truck driver
  • Collect insurance information from the truck driver as well as information about the driver’s employer
  • Seek out eyewitnesses who would be willing to speak with the insurance company

Be aware that Connecticut has a statute of limitations for beginning a lawsuit, varying based on the type of injuries and damages you have suffered. It is often two years after the date of the event. If someone died in the accident, the family can submit a wrongful death claim against the truck driver, but a family member must do this no more than two years after the individual dies.

Truck laws and insurance

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration governs trucking in the U.S. and works to prevent fatalities and injuries caused by commercial motor vehicles. The law requires truckers in Connecticut to carry a certain minimum amount of liability insurance:

  • Trucks carrying less than 10,000 lbs. of household goods: $300,000
  • Interstate travel with general freight: $750,000
  • Oil transport: $1,000,000
  • Hazardous materials transport: $5,000,000

Obtaining fair coverage

Dealing with a large trucking corporation can be difficult, as insurance adjusters may try to minimize your expenses to save money. When you have suffered severe injuries in a trucking accident, it is important to work with an experienced truck accident lawyer who can tell you what type of evidence can prove your case and how to work with a big business.