Hit-and-run accidents can have tragic consequences for their victims, particularly when those victims are pedestrians. Besides being potentially seriously injured, they’re often forced to struggle with their own insurance companies to cover their injuries — and that’s only if they have applicable uninsured motorist coverage. So it’s worth recognizing when hit-and-run drivers turn themselves in to police.
That’s what recently happened in regards to a hit-and-run accident that took place last Thursday morning in Bridgeport. According to police, an unknown driver hit a 10-year-old boy while he was crossing a one-way street on his way to school. Then, the driver turned around on the one-way street and fled the scene.
That unknown driver turned out to be a 23-year-old man who turned himself in to Bridgeport police later that same day. Police say he was driving a rental car at the time of the accident, which may imply he panicked at the damage to the car. Unfortunately, he appears not to have had a driver’s license, either, which may have added to his panic.
He has been charged with a variety of offenses, including failure to yield to a pedestrian, driving the wrong way on a one-way street, driving without a license and evading responsibility. Evading responsibility is the Connecticut law requiring any driver involved in an accident with injuries or major property damage to immediately stop, render appropriate assistance, and identify him- or herself.
Unfortunately for the young victim of the accident, the fact that the driver had no license probably means he wasn’t carrying insurance, either. Furthermore, he probably wasn’t the one who rented the car, because renting a car requires a driver’s license, and that could make quite a bit more difficult for the family to obtain damages through the rental company’s policy.
Nevertheless, it’s far better for everyone when hit-and-run drivers step, admit their mistakes, and try to make amends.
Source: CBS News Connecticut, “Accused Hit-Run Driver Turns Himself In,” May 11, 2013